Home » About Us » Governors


Image of Dean David Connor- St George's School Windsor

The Right Reverend David J Conner

KCVO, MA, Dean of Windsor

As Dean of Windsor, David Conner is also the Registrar of the Order of the Garter and a domestic chaplain to HM the Queen.

Fabian French

Fabian is an alumnus of St George’s, with very happy memories of his time at the school. After a brief period as a corporate solicitor, Fabian worked in corporate finance at leading City firms. In 2010, he moved into the charity sector: first as Fundraising Director at Marie Curie and then at U.K. Community Foundations as Chief Executive. He has various NED roles both in the for-profit and not-for-profit sectors.

Ian Canning

Ian has enjoyed a varied career in HR at institutions including the Bank of England, the Zurich Insurance Company and Harlequins Rugby Club. He has previous experience as a prep school governor at the Cavendish School in Camden and also serves as a governor of the Royal School in Windsor Great Park. Ian serves on the Finance & General Purposes Committee.

Image of Julie Cornell - St George's School WindsorJulie Cornell


With expertise in alumni relations, development, fundraising and communications in independent schools, Julie Cornell chairs the Governance, Compliance & Nominations Committee and the Strategy & Development Committee.

Image of Canon Martin Poll - St George's School Windsor

Canon Martin Poll

BA (Hons), CTh

Martin Poll is both Chaplain to the Great Park and Canon Chaplain. He is a member of the Strategy and Development Committee.

Image of Canon Mark Powell - St George's School Windsor

Canon Dr Mark Powell

BSc, MA, PhD

Mark Powell is Canon Steward of St George’s Chapel and chairs the Safeguarding Committee. Prior to joining the College of St George, he was Rector of four rural communities in Derbyshire. Mark is a member of the Education, Staffing & Music Committee.

Image of Mrs Barbara Salisbury- St George's School Windsor

Barbara Salisbury


Barbara has been a teacher at the Abbey School Reading for a number of years and as a former Head of Instrumental Music with several years as a Pastoral Lead brings valuable experience from the education sector to the School Council. Barbara is Chair of the Education and Staffing Committee.

Helen Sandom

BSc (Hons)

Helen joined the School Council in November 2016, bringing extensive experience in strategy,

marketing and HR. A former St George’s parent, Helen has worked with a wide range of organisations, including St George’s House. Helen chairs the Finance & General Purposes Committee and sits on the Strategy & Development Committee.

Jane Scott


Jane retired as Head of The Granville School in 2018 after ten years in post. She continues to serve on various IAPS committees, acting as a mentor to new Head Teachers and chairing the IAPS charitable activities body, the iTrust. Jane is a qualified ISI team inspector. Jane has a particular love of music, being a singer and board member of the Bach Choir.  Jane is a member of the Education Staffing and Music Committee.

Image of Martin Stanford - St George's School Windsor

Martin Stanford – Chairman

Martin Stanford has had a career in broadcasting, most recently as a TV presenter with Sky News. He is a member of the Strategy & Development Committee, the Nominations Committee and the Finance & General Purposes Committee.

The Governors meet termly as sub-committees, to discuss specific matters, and all together as the School Council.

To get in touch with any of the Governors, please email

[email protected]

Emails to this address will be read in the first instance by the Clerk to the Governors, Katie Chorley and will be forwarded as appropriate.